September 19, 1998 DAR Constitution Hall – Washington, DC

Show Notes

Ed says, “Hi, it feels like we’re in the White House … we haven’t played a place with carpet in a while; I think this place is the last bastion of sanity in town. Music is the choice; we’re here tonight, you’re gonna hear words and entertainment, not in any particular order; Hovercraft’s gonna come out (applause … someone shouts ‘Ed for President’) … It’s not gonna happen, unless you agree to release the tapes that say, ‘Ed was sitting in his hotel room smoking pot out of a bong (applause)” and he goes into ‘I Am a Patriot.’ Several speakers follow from Voters For Choice, and then Gloria Steinem speaks: “I pledge to you that I will go to jail before I tell Ken Starr anything that goes on here tonight … These guys live their beliefs; they’re smart and good-hearted; they use their heads and their minds, they started out, they had tough times, but they weren’t broken by them, and it’s rare that any other group that they’ve remained themselves with their success … they look after their true selves and your true selves” and then she introduces the band, making mistakes on Stone and Mike’s names. =) The band comes out and Ed says, “You know why we’re here; we’ll talk later.” During ‘Not for You,’ Ed comments: “We want to dedicate this next set of lines to the CC” before the “all that’s sacred line” (referring to the Christian Coalition, who are meeting in DC this week). Ed’s delivery during ‘All Those Yesterdays’ is particularly notable and distinct. ‘Push Me Pull Me’ is a little rough, and Ed shrugs at the end, and then says, “This one we’ll do better …” leading to ‘Faithfull.’ Somebody passes up a big sign, and he reads it: “Dear PJ: word up, dogs … you guys fucking kick it. Look us up when you’re back in DC, we’re in the book; Bill, Hillary and Chelsea.” (That was not what the sign really said =)). And then in a Clinton voice, Ed says, “He just needs to go on TV and say, ‘Shoot, it’s no big deal’…but I guess he already did that a couple of weeks ago.” Someone shouts “I love you Eddie,” and he replies, “Watch it, keep it consensual … this isn’t about issues.” Then someone yells, “I love PJ” and Ed says, “Well, so do I … this just is bipartisan politics in motion, that’s what’s ruining the country, ruining the office of the President … people are playing king of the hill while there’s people with lives, families, debts and injury who really need help,” before starting ‘Present Tense.’ Mike’s solo during ‘Black’ is right on, and Ed applauds him, and notes him when the song is over. “The last time we played here was with L7 and Young Neil … he gave me a song writing lesson at a half-price rate; this is what I came up with … on my final, he gave me a B+ I think” leading to ‘I Got Shit.’ Mike sings with Ed during ‘Better Man’ during the “she dreams in color” line! Ed has a bunch of VFC condoms inside his tambourine and starts handing them out toward the end of ‘Alive.’ Ed thanks the VFC people, “They’re not up there to lead any one astray; don’t let the funny business down the street think that voting isn’t worth it. Vote for what you believe.” ‘Soldier of Love’ is dedicated to “people on the other side of the issue.” Gloria comes out with roses before ‘YL,’ and says, “There’s history here tonight; this is the first time Hovercraft has played Voters for Choice; Pearl Jam’s third; Sadie 7 is really Beth Liebling, Ed Vedder is Ed Vedder; these are two artists, married to each other, here tonight, both for this cause, and dedicating their time. I want to thank Stone and Mike for not getting pissed at me for messing up their names. I don’t know if I can get Beth out here .. (the audience chants ‘Beth, Beth’) … this is the crew’s bread and butter, I want to thank them for donating their time tonight.” Then Beth comes out, takes a rose, she and Ed do a little dance; Beth leaves, and Gloria says, “Democracy comes to those who vote,” and the band goes into ‘YL.’

Notes provided by: Twofeetthick

Source 1

Pearl Jam
September 19, 1998
Constitution Hall, Washington D.C.

Source: Vault #3 CD patched with Sonic Studios (DSM6) > Sony TCD-D100 > DAT > CDR
pre-set: Countryman Isomax II > Sony PCM-M1 > DAT > CDR
Lineage: CD > WAV > dEQ > FLAC; FLAC > WAV > dEQ > FLAC
Notes: Fixed two glitches in Vault CD (SBE?), EQ’ed to reduce mid-range a bit, and
patched beginning of “Push Me, Pull Me” and 2nd encore with SS source, which
was EQ’ed and volume boosted to match Vault source.

01 Long Road
02 Act of Love
03 Hail, Hail
04 Dissident
05 Given to Fly
06 Corduroy
07 Wishlist
08 Not for You
09 All Those Yesterdays
10 Daughter
11 Whipping
12 Immortality
13 Push Me, Pull Me
14 Faithfull
15 Present Tense
16 Rearviewmirror
17 Black
18 Do the Evolution

19 I Got Shit
20 Better Man
21 Alive
22 Soldier of Love

23 Yellow Ledbetter

24 I Am a Patriot (Ed solo before opening acts)

Compiled September 2020 by FGE

Audio 1

We offer all our concerts in FLAC format. FLAC stands for Free Lossless Audio Codec and is used to compress sound clips without loss of quality. FLAC is often compared to MP3, only there is a loss of quality when converting to MP3. For the true audiophile, FLAC offers much better quality than MP3.


Album Artwork

If we have album art available from this show you can download it here. Sometimes album art is included in the audio download links.


Here you can find a youtube video of the concert.

Leave a Reply

Become a PJFM member and get access to all PJ Shows, comments and links!
Sign up