June 26, 1998 Alpine Valley – East Troy, WI

Show Notes

The band is in a great mood, laughing, joking and smiling (especially Eddie). ‘Last Exit’ is botched and Ed says, “Fuck that song … let’s get to the next.” A series of technical problems are evidenced, both in Ed’s and Mike’s sound. Although ‘Leatherman’ appears on the setlist after ‘Better Man,’ it isn’t played. Ed says “hello” to his brother in the crowd before ‘Daughter.’ The ‘Stuff and Nonsense’ tag is a Split Enz tune. After destroying a tambourine, Ed tries to give it to a female show attendee but a struggle ensues and Ed says, “Give it to the girl.” (He makes sure that she gets a second one at the end of ‘Alive.’) Ed says, “Once upon a time, we made a record with Neil Young. It took about six days, and we played, but Neil did all of the singing and stuff. We wrote and Neil helped out to make a couple songs to make a single – and uh, all that proves is that in six days Neil can write 12 songs and we can only write two. This one’s called ‘I Got Shit’.” A wild ‘Alive,’ with Ed hitting himself in the mouth with the microphone, anointing the crowd with wine and proceeds to the end of a video screen and points to it as if displaying Matt. He runs back to the mic and adds an improv/tag (something about “sometime …”). The song ends with Jeff bouncing a superball off the stage which he’d been toying with earlier. Before ‘Red Mosquito,’ he notes that Alpine Valley is the last place Stevie Ray Vaughn ever played. (SRV died in a helicopter crash after the show.) ‘Yellow Ledbetter’ is also for SRV and toward the end, Mike tosses in a bit of Jimi Hendrix’ ‘Machine Gun.’ The whole band watches Mike solo

Notes provided by: Twofeetthick

Source 1

Pearl Jam
June 26, 1998
Alpine Valley: East Troy, WI

Source: 2-source mix: [Shure SM-98 > Sony TCD-D7 (Sec.102, row F, seat 124) > dat > cdr] + [Sonic Studios (DSM6L) > PA-6LC3 > Sony TCD-D8 > dat > cdr] > dEQ > flac > dEdit > flac

Matrix Mix: ThinAir (1999)
Digital Remastering: ThinAir (September 2003)
Digital Editing: Allen Robertson (January 2004)
Artwork: Allen Robertson


01 Do the Evolution
02 Animal
03 Last Exit
04 Brain of J
05 Given to Fly
06 In Hiding
07 Corduroy
08 Wishlist
09 Lukin
10 Even Flow
11 Daughter/(Stuff and Nonsense) (#)
12 Dissident
13 MFC
14 Better Man
15 Red Mosquito
16 Black

01 encore 1
02 Hail, Hail
03 Mankind
04 I Got Shit/(Cinnamon Girl)
05 Rearviewmirror
06 Alive
07 encore 2
08 Yellow Ledbetter/(Machine Gun)


(#) = Second to last time to this date that Stuff and Nonsense has been teased by the band (9/3/98 being the last).

Recording Notes:
Editing was performed to remove the glitches that were present after the remastering was performed.

This is being distributed by blackredyellow.com in tandem with pj.sidewalkcrusaders.com, and is part of a series of the best Pearl Jam shows in existance.
If the artwork is not included, you can find it at blackredyellow.com.

Compiled by spacedvest on 1/17/04.

Audio 1

We offer all our concerts in FLAC format. FLAC stands for Free Lossless Audio Codec and is used to compress sound clips without loss of quality. FLAC is often compared to MP3, only there is a loss of quality when converting to MP3. For the true audiophile, FLAC offers much better quality than MP3.


Album Artwork

If we have album art available from this show you can download it here. Sometimes album art is included in the audio download links.


Here you can find a youtube video of the concert.

Leave a Reply

Become a PJFM member and get access to all PJ Shows, comments and links!
Sign up