August 23, 1998 Palace of Auburn Hills – Auburn Hills, MI

Show Notes

Ed sings background vocals for ‘Surrender,’ the last song of Cheap Trick’s opening set, introduced by CT as “a friend who is new in the music industry, we want to give him a hand starting out.” Before MFC, Ed says, “I’d like to thank the greatest guitar tech in the world, Rick Nielsen.” The ‘MFC’ lyrics are modified from: “there’s a lot to be said for nowhere” to “there’s a lot to be said for Detroit.” Mike plays the ‘Go’ solo behind his head; during an incredible ‘RVM’ (introed by Ed by saying, “first gear … second gear … third gear …” all the way up to fifth), a stagediver invades the stage, is removed by Eric Johnson, and Ed says, “No, bring him back,” and then says “kneel” and the guy gets on his knees. Then he turns to the crowd and says sarcastically, “These fucking assholes who try to get onstage piss me off … not to mention the HAIRCUT” and the crowd goes wild, he’s got a haircut that is short on the top and long on the back, “let me guess – you’re from CANADA – what the fuck?! Either you want it short, or you want it long – make up your fucking mind!” and then he cuts his hair with a pair of Swiss Army Knife scissors (not before whispering in his ear to make sure it was okay). Long speech between ‘Daughter’ and ‘All Those Yesterdays’ about working and being slackers and burning it on both ends, and “fuck that.” The ‘Better Man’ tag is the music for ‘Save It For Later,’ but the lyrics to ‘Crazy Mary.’ ‘Smile’ is introduced as “a new song … with Stone Gossard playing – nothing” (since it was taking George a long time to get a bass to Stone). Before ‘Footsteps’, Ed says, “To be frank, honest, candid – the five of us together making music is pretty fun; even without you. We had a lot of fun in East Lansing; this has been great, too. Now we’re gonna play a request.”

Notes provided by: Twofeetthick

Source 1

Pearl Jam
The Palace
Auburn Hills, MI

Source: Neumann KM140s -> Aerco -> Casio DA-7
(Row 25, Sec. A, direct line with right stacks)
Lineage: DAT(c) 48khz -> FLAC
Transfer: DA-20 -> Monster coax -> DiO 2496 -> SF 6.0 -> CDWave -> FLAC

Disc I
01 Long Road
02 Last Exit
03 Brain of J
04 Do the Evolution
05 Tremor Christ
06 Corduroy
07 MFC
08 Immortality
09 Wishlist
10 Alive
11 Given to Fly
12 Go
13 Jeremy
14 Even Flow
15 Daughter/(I Want You to Want Me)

Disc II
01 Ed talking
02 All Those Yesterdays
03 Rearviewmirror
04 Animal
05 Hail Hail
06 Off He Goes
07 Better Man/(Crazy Mary)
08 Footsteps
09 Smile
10 Fuckin’ Up


Notes: Great show and recording.

Thanks to JR for the DAT.

Transfer by BLG
compiled on 01-25-05

Audio 1

We offer all our concerts in FLAC format. FLAC stands for Free Lossless Audio Codec and is used to compress sound clips without loss of quality. FLAC is often compared to MP3, only there is a loss of quality when converting to MP3. For the true audiophile, FLAC offers much better quality than MP3.


Album Artwork

If we have album art available from this show you can download it here. Sometimes album art is included in the audio download links.


Here you can find a youtube video of the concert.

Leave a Reply

Become a PJFM member and get access to all PJ Shows, comments and links!
Sign up